The Oldest Poetry Reading Series In The Country.




New England Poetry Club 2010 Contest Results

Golden Rose Award
Mark Strand

May Sarton Award
Winner: Sam Hamill

Erika Mumford Award
Judged by: Irene Koronas
Co-winner: Vivian Shipley for "Proud Flesh"
Co-winner: Kathleen Spivack for "Tivoli Garden, the Caretaker Takes Pity"

Rosalie Boyle / Norma Farber Award
Judged by: Dianne Robitaille
Winner: Catherine Staples for "Caravaggio's The Calling of St. Matthew"
Honorable Mention: Len Krisak for "Conceit"
Honorable Mention: Patricia Giragosian for "Isabella's Garden"

Barbara Bradley Award
Judged by: Victor Howes
Co-winner: Karina Borowicz for "Bone Flute"
Co-winner: Nancy Brady Cunningham for "Sapho to Atthis"
Honorable Mention: Vivian Shipley for "My Mother's Last Breath"

Der-Hovanessian Translation Award
Judged by: Svetlana and Harris Sussman
1st Place: "The Thaw"/Primo Levi/Italian translated by Harry Thomas
2nd Place: "Moses Jackson"/AE Houseman/Latin translated by Len Krisak
Honorable Mention: "When My Eyes Grown Dim"/Hebrew translated by Atar Hatari
Honorable Mention: "Reserved for Angels"/French translated by Philip Burnham

Firman Houghton Award
Judged by: Ellin Sarot
Winner: Susan Eisenberg for "Medical Bills"
Honorable Mention: Michael Cantor for "Watching Reruns"
Honorable Mention: Len Krisak for "Lyric"
Honorable Mention: Alice Friman for "The Gift"

Gretchen Warren Award
Judged by: Dolores Stewart Riccio
Co-winner: "Birthday Greetings VI: The Riverway" by Philip Burnham
Co-winner: "Eviction" by Nancy Brady Cuningham
Honorable Mention: "Ars Poetica on Lava" by Alice Friman
Honorable Mention: "Popular Music" by Kathleen Aguero
Honorable Mention: "temple holy water" by Nancy Brady Cunningham
Honorable Mention: "Mood Indigo" by Krikor Der Hohannesian

Daniel Varoujan Award
Judged by: F.D. Reeve
Winner: "1915, the Song Cut Short"
HELP! Will the author please write to us
to let us know your name and address!
The entry came without identification.

Shelia Motton Book Award
Judged by: Ellen Jane Powers
Co-winner: Patricia Fargnoli for Then, Something
Co-winner: Dzvinia Orlowsky for Convertible Night, Flurry of Stones
Finalist: Teresa Cader for History of Hurricanes

The Jean Pedrick Chapbook Award
Judged by: Valerie Lawson and Michael Brown
Winner: Spring Melt by Katherine Bode-Lang
Honorable Mention: Rappelling Blue Light by Laura Rodley

 New England Poetry Club 2010 Student Prize Winners

The John Holmes Award:
Winner: Matthew Beacom, Southern Connecticut State University
Honorable Mentions: Ali Szubiak, Emerson
and Pat Mottola, University of Southern CT

Ruth Berrien Fox Award:
Co-Winner: Gabriella Fee for "Draught", from Walnut Hill School of the Arts,
Co-Winner: Andy Vo, for "The Persistence of Memory", Boston Latin
Honorable Mentions:
Haile Reeves, North Andover High School
Evan Campbell, Arlington High School
Brett Niedzwiecki, Monument High School
Marliyn Petrowski, Milton Academy

Henry Wadsworth Longellow - Frank Buda Prizes:
Second Grade winners: Eli Barlowe, Soli Martin-Abascal, Oliver Wolf

Third Grade winners: John Vernagliia, Zack Weiss, Jim Howe

Fifth Grade winners: Elleanor Stoddard, Sam Cabot, Zoe Goldstein

Sixth Grade winners: Caroline Ramos, Isaiah Pierre, Venus Montgomery, Joann Cassama, Margaret Entwistle, Winslow Ferris

Eigth Grade winner: Pearl Choi

Eigth Grade Honorable Mentions: Marianne Dionne, Fisher Gates

For more information, contact us at