Contest Judges 2018

SAMUEL WASHINGTON ALLEN PRIZE for a long poem or poem sequence

 Marilyn Nelson, distinguished poet and educator, recipient of the Golden Rose from the New England Poetry Club, among many other honors, is the author of seven full-length collections as well as numerous books for young people.

E. E. CUMMINGS PRIZE for a compelling, lyrical, or experimental poem under 21 lines

 Regie Gibson, visionary poet and educator, has lectured and performed around the world.

AMY LOWELL PRIZE for an outstanding poem of any length or style

Mary Buchinger, author of Aerialist and other collections, is the President of the New England Poetry Club.

DER-HOVANESSIAN PRIZE for a translation from any language

Susan Barba, poet, translator, and senior editor for New York Review Books, holds a doctorate in comparative literature from Harvard University and is the author of Fair Sun.

JEAN PEDRICK CHAPBOOK PRIZE for a chapbook of poems published in the last two years

Krysten Hill, educator, poet, and performer, was awarded New England Poetry Club’s Jean Pedrick Prize in 2017 for her chapbook, How Her Spirit Got Out.

SHEILA MARGARET MOTTON BOOK PRIZE for a book of poems published in the last two years

Danielle Legros Georges, poet, educator, and Boston’s Poet Laureate, was awarded the Sheila Margret Motton Prize from the New England Poetry Club for her book, The Dear Remote Nearness of You.