Deadline extended for submission to be the 3rd Poet Laureate in Somerville!

Call for a Somerville Poet Laureate! Please consider running!

The Somerville Arts Council is pleased to announce a call for our third Poet Laureate.

We’ve been privileged to have two poets since 2015.  From 2015 to 2016 Nicole Terez Dutton served as our first laureate and our second laureate, Gloria Mindock served from 2017 through 2018.  See their bios and work below.

The City views the position as a means to further enhance the profile of poets and poetry in the city and beyond.  The Poet Laureate is expected to bring poetry to segments of Somerville’s community that have less access or exposure to poetry: senior citizens, youth, schools and communities.  The Poet Laureate will be a person of vision with the ability to enact his/her vision.

The deadline for submission to become our third laureate is on November 20th, 2018.   Please down the pdf application here

Special Thanks to Doug Holder and Harris Gardner, our poet advocates.


New England Poetry Contests are officially OPEN!


The Board of the New England Poetry Club has revised its contests and is excited to announce the following prizes, which are open to all writers in English. We hope you will be inspired to send your work.

 Samuel Washington Allen Prize: For a long poem or poem sequence of 3 to 10 pages, single-spaced.

This prize honors the legacy of the African-American poet, translator, professor, and former New England Poetry Club leader, Samuel Washington Allen, who also published as Paul Vesey.

Judge: Marilyn Nelson, distinguished poet and educator, recipient of the Golden Rose from the New England Poetry Club, among many other honors, is the author of seven full-length collections as well as numerous books for young people.

E. Cummings Prize: For a compelling, lyrical, or experimental poem under 21 lines.

This prize recognizes one of the New England Poetry Club’s most famous charter members.

 Judge: Regie Gibson, visionary poet and educator, has lectured and performed around the world.

Amy Lowell Prize: For an outstanding poem of any length or style.

This prize recognizes the charismatic poet who was the New England Poetry Club’s first president.

Judge: Mary Buchinger, current President of NEPC;

Der-Hovanessian Prize: For a translation from any language; the original poem should be authored by someone other than the translator. Include the poem in the original language along with the translation.

This long-standing prize is named in honor of poet and translator Diana Der-Hovanessian who led the New England Poetry Club with vision and energy for decades.

Judge: Susan Barba, poet, translator, and senior editor for New York Review of Books, holds a doctorate in comparative literature from Harvard University and is the author of Fair Sun

Book Prizes

 Jean Pedrick Chapbook Prize: For a chapbook of poems published in the last two years.

Judge: Krysten Hill, educator, poet, and performer, was awarded New England Poetry Club’s Jean Pedrick Prize in 2017 for her chapbook, How Her Spirit Got Out.

Sheila Margaret Motton Book Prize: For a book of poems published in the last two years.

Judge: Danielle Legros Georges, poet, educator, and Boston’s Poet Laureate, was awarded the Sheila Margret Motton Prize from the New England Poetry Club for her book, The Dear Remote Nearness of You.

Submission Period
April and May only; entries received outside these months will not be considered.
Winners announced in August/September on our website, and on Facebook and Twitter.

Click on CONTEST tab for information about how to submit your work!

Unlocking the Word, an Anthology of Found Poetry edited by Jonas Zdanys

Lamar University Literary Press is pleased to announce Unlocking the Word, the first major anthology of found poetry, and invites all poets who are currently exploring the form or who may be interested in doing so to submit their work for consideration.

“Found poetry” is a literary form that uses words not meant to be a poem (as they originally appeared) and turning those words into a poem. A found poem works because the poet who discovers it is able to find poetry in ordinary language and discover or understand the aesthetic possibilities of all words no matter where they originally appear. Found poetry therefore involves an appreciative sense of the innate aesthetic possibilities of all language. The goal is to use poetic sensibilities to find the right text and to ensure its thematic and narrative integrity even while restructuring its form through spacing and line breaks. The original words therefore should not be changed, and the original text should not be edited or revised.

Sources can be any published text, including textbooks, newspaper and magazine articles, letters, emails, advertisements, speeches, and other “non-creative” publications. The anthology will not include found poems discovered in any literary text (poetry, fiction, or drama).

Unlocking the Word will focus on the joy of the discovery of the transformative aesthetic elements in everyday language and the poetry that resides all around us. Jonas Zdanys is an award-winning bilingual poet and literary translator.

How to Submit:

  • Submissions should be emailed, as a Word document attachment only, to Jonas Zdanys:
  • Submit up to 5 found poems, on or before December 1, 2017. Include your name and email address on each poem. Previously published poems should be acknowledged.
  • For each found poem, indicate the exact source of the original text.
  • Include a short biography and a listing of books published, if any.
    Poets will be notified in early 2018 if their works have been selected for inclusion in Unlocking the Word.

Other anthologies from Lamar University Literary Press include:

  • The Great American Wise Ass Poetry Anthology, Jerry Bradley and Ulf Kirchdorfer, editors
  • Pushing the Envelope: Epistolary Poems, Jonas Zdanys, editor
  • A Shared Voice, Tom Mack and Andrew Geyer, editors
  • The Beatest State in The Union, Chris Carmona, Rob Johnson, and Chuck Taylor, editors
  • Texas Weather: An Anthology of Poetry, Short Fiction, and Nonfiction, Terry Dalrymple and Laurence
  • Musgrove, editors